Limehouse: A Kooky Horticulture Blog

Welcome to my new blog, everyone.

I’m Lianna Mae, a plant-loving and generally horticulture obsessed human, allegedly from planet Earth. Lakeland, Florida, USA more specifically.

I have always been fascinated with life and wished to be surrounded by the abundance of it. I have all the typical stories of dreaming of being able to live with a house full of animals and plants deep in the woods… fending for myself and building a robot army / learning necromancy in order to purge the world of pollution and mean people.   I’m actually not kidding about that one, here’s an excerpt of my manifesto, written in my most malicious 8-year-old’s handwriting: 20151219_114122

And while I never made good on my promises of world domination via dead shadow hands, I am living my dream of pursuing education about biology and horticulture. That’s where this blog comes in, see ? Because I want to help share all of that with all of you!  As I learn new topics about basically anything plant science related, I want to write about it here and try to teach others about it, too. We both will win, because I will learn my subject more thoroughly, and others can hopefully get a better understanding as well. I can’t wait! If you have any questions or suggestions for a new posting, I am more than happy to hear from you.

Here are some topics that I would really like to cover:

  • Hydroponics and other alternative forms of growth
  • Composting, especially of non-traditional items
  • Garden related crafts and constructions
  • Folklore of plants
  • Propagation methods and other horticultural practices
  • Organic and low-impact care of garden
  • Exotics and ornamentals, especially in other climates.
  • Plant functionality in garden and industry
  • Plant A&P (anatomy and physiology)
  • And of course GENERAL GARDENING COMPLAINTS AND QUESTIONS

I really can’t wait to dig in. Ha ha. Get it??

PS The featured image is me on my wedding day. I don’t have too many good photos sitting around right now, so there you go.

PPS Lianna Mae‘s Greenhouse = limehouse!

Leave a comment